Sunset.

by avrillorenzo

A warm breeze blew through her hair as the late afternoon sun gently painted the scene before her. The park was oddly empty as she stood and watched the trees dance and the waters of the lake ripple here and there. She sighed and raised her hand to the sun. She opened and closed her hands, spread her fingers to let the sunlight dance between them. After a while of standing, she sat down on the slightly damp grass and hugged her knees to her.

She wore a very solemn expression on her face graced with tear tracks along her cheeks. They just had the biggest fight in their whole relationship. It scared her how much their story was somewhat resembling a tragedy.

It was only a few minutes when somebody sat down beside her. She looked to her right then looked up to the orange sky with hints of pink and mauve, her lips pressed in a thin line. The person sitting beside her spoke.

“I love this time of day. It’s like the sky compensates for the end of the day by making everything majestically beautiful. I’d take the end if it’s always going to be this way.”

“But would you really settle for the end?”

“Maybe. As the saying goes, ‘all good things come to an end’.”

“What if the end isn’t as lovely as you want it to be? What if it’s the start and the middle that’s beautiful?”

“Then I wouldn’t take it in the first place if the end’s going to be horrible.”

“I guess that’s why you’re with me, aren’t you?”

“I guess so. The start of our story was never made of fairytale magic. It started out bad. We were always at each other’s throats. It’s pretty funny, if you ask me. Looking back, I never expected we would go far. Our story isn’t perfect, isn’t wonderful and nobody expected us to get this far. But what’s amazing about it is that in the end, it’s us together. And that’s the most beautiful thing I have ever come across with in my entire life. Having such an awful story made me flip the pages until I reached the end. Because I think happy endings make more sense when it’s not expected. It’s not just a happy ending, but a beautiful one.”

He took her hand and laced their fingers together. She looked at him and squeezed his hand gently.

“You know, I think I’m starting to like this part of the day.”

He brought their hands to his lips and kissed them.

Everything was perfect. The park was filtered orange and set a beautiful contrast to the lush greens. She couldn’t help but smile. The engagement was back on.

